Paul Gunther

A message from our President, Paul Gunther

As you have followed in recent weeks, three of the Institute’s regional chapters have accorded their annual design and craftsmanship awards: Bulfinch in New England, Addison Mizner in Florida (its first annual), and John Staub in Texas. Congratulations to the winners and accorders alike. The deadline for submissions for the Southeast’s Shutze Awards is November 16, 2012. (The deadline for the Arthur Ross Awards, given for a career of distinction in the classical tradition, falls close behind on Monday, December 17, 2012.)

With great enthusiasm, I can today announce the 2012 winners of a new ICAA initiative – the Stanford White Awards for Excellence in Classical and Traditional Design, for projects in New York, New Jersey, and Fairfield County, Connecticut.

The awardees by category are:

Residential Architecture – New Construction
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP
A New Residence and Outbuildings

Peter Pennoyer Architects
Drumlin Hall

Robert A. M. Stern Architects, LLP
Residence in Westport, CT

Residential Architecture – Renovation and Additions
Ferguson & Shamamian Architects, LLP
Alterations and Additions to Pepperidge Farm

Wright Architects, PLLC and Richard Cameron, Design Consultant
Richard Morris Hunt Carriage House

Residential Architecture – Townhouses and Apartments
John B. Murray Architect, LLC
Park Avenue Apartment

David Scott Parker Architects
Eastside Aesthetic Brownstone

Residential Architecture – Multi-Unit Buildings
Zivkovic Connolly Architects, P.C. and John Simpson & Partners Ltd.
Carnegie Hill Apartment Building

Robert A. M. Stern Architects, LLP
Fifteen Central Park West

Commercial, Civic and Institutional Architecture
George Ranalli, Architect
Saratoga Community Center

Landscape Design
Edmund D. Hollander Landscape Architects
Forest Retreat

Historic Preservation
Franck & Lohsen Architects
Old Westbury Estate Garden Pergola Restoration

Craftsmanship and Artisanship
Hyde Park Mouldings, Inc.
Louis XV Mirror Surround

John Canning & Co., Ltd.
The Basilica of Saint John the Evangelist Church

Les Métalliers Champenois Corp.
151 East 79th Street

Patronage Award
Lloyd Zuckerberg

Winners will be recognized during an awards reception at Stanford White’s landmark Tennis and Racquet Club in New York City on December 7, 2012. The reception will be narrated with inimitable insight by Calder Loth of Richmond, Virginia, who served as a juror along with Thomas Beeby of Chicago, and Russell Windham of Houston, Texas.

Co-founding White Awards Committee Chair, Michael Mesko said, “Sincere thanks go to the jurors for carefully considering each and every submission over two long, rewarding days of discussion and deliberation. We are grateful for the participation of all who submitted projects this inaugural year and for the support and enthusiasm for this new initiative, especially our generous underwriters. It is an auspicious start to a new tradition.”

There is also a great deal going on throughout our network. The Chapter presidents, staff, and other stewards gather each October at the New York headquarters to share experience, receive training, and elect their official representative to the Board of Directors. As Andrew Cogar is now completing his third successive term limit, I can report that by unanimous presidential ballot, architect Tim Barber of Los Angeles was elected as the new representative with his service to begin December 11, 2012 at the Hurricane Sandy–delayed annual meeting of the board. Tim is past president and pioneering trustee of the Southern California Chapter and is welcomed eagerly by all.


  1. Pingback: DH Guide — Dering Hall

  2. patrick says:

    Very impressive, am very impressed by your organization and work

    Reply »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Security Code: